Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

What are the odds that all 8 division winners go 6-0 in division games?

Asked by Franklin almost 8 years ago

I don't know....what are they?

And what does that have to do with officiating?

2 extra point questions:
After touchdown team decides to go for 2 points. T make it but incur holding penalty. Back 10 yards can they now chgange to 1 point kick??
2 - Decision to go for 2 but get up to line calls time out. can they now go for 1?

Asked by Bill Miller about 7 years ago

Yes and yes. A PAT is a scrimmage play and, as with any play from scrimmage, you can call any play you want. A PAT is a scrimmage kick and, as on a punt (another scrimmage kick) you can change your mind after s penalty.

Why can't the ball be snapped to the center of the hash marks for a field goal? Must the ball be snapped directly backwards in these situations? (To move a field goal attempt to the middle versus kicking from the hash marks)

Asked by Football noob about 8 years ago

The ball is snapped based on where it ends up after the previous play. If the play ends outside the hash (between hash and sideline) it is brought back to the hash for the next snap. If it is incomplete, it is returned to where it was last snapped. If it ends between the hashes, it is snapped at the spit where the play ended. You don't table a choice of where to place the ball.

This is a question about the NFL. Is sack also counted as a tackle for loss? Meaning are they duplicate stat line or do they both show as a separate stat? I know tackles for loss are counted in the tackle stat but I'm not clear on sacks vs TFL. Thank

Asked by JB Steel almost 8 years ago

Can't help you. That isnt a part of the playing rules, which on-field officials address. That's a stat question.

Grif Whalen calls a fair catch. The ball hits his facemask and bounces up. While the ball is in the air, is the defender allowed to grab it?

Asked by Rick about 8 years ago

Yes. As long as he doesn't impede the rrceiver's opportunity to catch.

What happens in college football when the runners own player knocks him backwards and down to the ground. How is forward progress determined? Since the defense did not stop him – should he be down where he lands and not where the forward most spot of the ball?

Asked by Brian Jarrell about 9 years ago

I wish I had seen this - it's the second question about it. Here's the answer - repeated: A player is moving forward until he isn't. If a runner collides with a teammate and falls down, he's down. Once the runner's own action stops propelling him forward - unless he runs backwards of his accord - he has ended his "forward progress". And to add/clarify: It is where the ball is when his forward movement ends, whether tackled or he falls on his own or after contact with his teammate.

On a kickoff, say the receiver catches the ball straddling the endzone, he hesitates, and here's the other team. He can't go fwd., he may get a safety, so he decides to throw the ball out of bounds. An illegal forward pass but they keep the ball?

Asked by Scott almost 8 years ago

Hey, coach! Tell your player to either catch it in the field of play or in the endzone. No indecision!!

Generally, officials will give the player the benefit of the doubt and say he's in the endzone. But if he is obviously straddling the line as you describe, he's caused all of us problems. It matters where the ball is, not the player. But if he throws it, he just screwed the pooch. If he throws it backwards, it's alive and the kicking team could recover it. If he throws it out of bounds backwards, it's a safety. If he throws it forward from the endzone, it's an illegal forward pass and the penalty is marked from the spot of the foul -- safety.